“Why Men Marry Bitches” by Sherry Argov

I really should not allow myself to be lazy when it comes to book reviews. My original frustration has rather diminished by now.

Granted, the book is fun to read. There are parts you laugh out loud, and I might even go as far as to say parts that MIGHT have helped me at times in my early/mid-twenties (or so I would like to think and console myself for my failures in this difficult woven world of love).

The major frustration I have had throughout the book is that the author makes it sound like ALL women are desperate to get that ring on that particular finger. THAT is their sole purpose in life and when meeting a guy. Although she states at the very beginning and at the very end that this book is not about helping women get married and that you can be perfectly happy living a single, rich, life, the entirety of the book rests on the premise that women WANT to get married.

My second frustration was: why is it that women should be the ones to try so hard at making the relationship work? Why can’t men make their own efforts? Why do women have to read into the lines and be the ones cunning enough to do the opposite things of what they actually want to do?

Also, the book is quite ‘American’, and I don’t think the same advice would work on, for instance, Korean women and men. The author seems to think that NO guy would ever be crazy enough to want to get married, and yet, I see many 30-something year old Korean guys who are desperate to get married, to anyone, just for the sake of getting married, and well, we all know, because they mainly need someone to take care of them just like their mommy did for the past 30 something years.

Finally, this book has only certified my belief that self-help books are useless (I never read or buy self-help books, for many reasons. The only one I’ve read and enjoyed so far was ‘아프니까 청춘이다’). You can’t possibly generalize a gender. There are many types of guys and girls in this world, (just like there are many types of people in this world and the success of one person cannot mean that you are made up with the same stuff and bound to walk the same path of success) so, really, I don’t see the point of this book.

The whole book is just a continuation of the single and primary irony the book opens with: ‘Be the bitch, be yourself, a strong and independent woman, as long as you submit to the expectations the man has of you to be a strong and independent woman’.

On a final note, nothing personal, but I’m kind of curious about Sherry Argov’s personal success in love.

2 thoughts on ““Why Men Marry Bitches” by Sherry Argov

  1. specialk says:

    if you never read self help books what made you read this one? I agree w u that frustrates me as well not all women want or care about getting married-(look at japan esp its an “alarming trend” I read!?!? anyway I read this book bc I have future plans of being a therapist and I know a few of my friends were desperate to find a guy & this book gives great advice

    • Hi Specialk, I came to read this book because it had been selected as one of the reads for a book club I used to go to. No special reason. The reading process itself was not boring, and it was worth it just for the sake of criticizing it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

